External Advisory Committee


The External Advisory Committee (EAC) of the San Diego CFAR is composed of renowned HIV experts in the U.S. Most are based at university research centers similar to our own.

Our EAC members have the perspective of their own world-class HIV research as well as HIV research activities at institutions around the country. They are especially qualified to guide us on current and future practice and policy.

Our current CFAR External Advisory Committee members are listed below.

Expertise: Antiretroviral therapy, gender-related HIV treatment issues

Carlos Del Rio, MD
Emory University

Expertise: Epidemiology, access to care, risk behaviors

Ronald Desrosiers, PhD
University of Miami

Expertise: Viral pathogenesis

Dana Gabuzda, MD
Harvard University
Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Expertise: Molecular virology and neuroAIDS

King Holmes, MD, PhD
University of Washington

Expertise: Epidemiology and global health

Eric Hunter, PhD
Emory University

Expertise: Molecular virology and vaccines

Expertise: Novel vaccine strategies against HIV and other infectious diseases

Julie Overbaugh, PhD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Expertise: Virology, transmission, and pathogenesis

Mario Stevenson, PhD
University of Miami

Expertise: Molecular virology and pathogenesis