Scientific Advisory Board


The Disparities Core Scientific Advisory Board provides guidance on current and future research projects related to HIV disparities. Each member has extensive background in HIV research, testing, treatment, and care, especially in regard to under-served and vulnerable populations.

  Name Title

Wilma Wooten, MD, MPH

Chair, Scientific Advisory Board

Public Health Officer, San Diego County Health and Human Services Agency


Charles Hicks, MD

Director, Owen Clinic

Professor of Clinical Medicine, UC San Diego

Douglas Richman, MD

Distinguished Professor, UC San Diego Pathology and Medicine

Director, UC San Diego Center for AIDS Research

Director, UC San Diego AIDS Research Institute

Staff Physician, VA San Diego Healthcare System

Florence Seeley Riford Chair, AIDS Research Institute

Steffanie Strathdee, PhD

Associate Dean, Global Health Sciences

Harold Simon Professor & Chief, Division of Global Public Health UC San Diego

At a Glance