Center For AIDS Research Logo
You are here: Home News & Events CFAR in the news Doug Richman receives 2015 A. Brad Truax Award!

Doug Richman receives 2015 A. Brad Truax Award!

CFAR Director Douglas D. Richman receives top honors at 2015 A. Brad Truax Award ceremony!
Doug Richman receives 2015 A. Brad Truax Award!

Douglas D. Richman, MD, recipient of 2015 A. Brad Truax Award

Each December 1, in conjunction with World AIDS Day, the County of San Diego’s HIV, STD and Hepatitis Branch of the Health and Human Services Agency, Public Health Services, sponsors the annual Dr. A. Brad Truax Award ceremony.

Dr. Douglas D. Richman, Director of our Center and of the UC San Diego AIDS Research Institute received the 2015 overall A. Brad Truax Award for his many contributions to HIV and AIDS research.

Dr. Richman joined the UC San Diego faculty in 1976, and has served the campus superbly, on local, national and international levels, demonstrated in part by his more than 800 papers and book chapters on HIV and retrovirus research.

Dr. Richman’s laboratory is internationally recognized for its expertise. In addition to discovering HIV drug resistance in the 1980s, his laboratory group has developed new ways to more precisely measure the HIV latent reservoir, which is the main barrier to curing HIV. These new methods were used in Dr. Richman’s laboratory to determine the status of HIV cure in the Berlin Patient. Currently, research groups from all over the world send their samples to Dr. Richman’s laboratory for precise quantification of the latent HIV reservoir.

Dr. Richman is more than a first-rate researcher and clinician. He is also an expert--some say legendary--mentor. Many of the currently highly successful HIV programs at UC San Diego are led by Dr. Richman’s trainees. He continues to actively mentor students, fellows, and junior faculty members.

Outside of UC San Diego and the VA San Diego Healthcare System, Dr. Richman continues to provide expertise to the HIV research community. He serves on multiple editorial boards and participates in numerous professional societies. He was also one of the co-founders, and still maintains an active role, for the Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections (CROI), the world's premier scientific retrovirus conference.

The 2015 A. Brad Truax award is in recognition of Dr. Richman’s three decades of relentless, groundbreaking HIV research and leadership in the field. This 2011 video gives his perspective on the first 30 years of the HIV battle.

Past UC San Diego recipients of the A. Brad Truax award include Drs. W. Christopher Mathews (1989) and Davey Smith (2009), Mary Caffrey (2003), Terry Albritton (2004), and Teresa Oyos (2012).

The Truax Award honors the memory of Dr. A. Brad Truax, who was one of the first physicians in San Diego to treat people with AIDS and who chaired the first advisory board on HIV/AIDS in the county.