Center For AIDS Research Logo
You are here: Home News & Events CFAR in the news 2012 A. Brad Truax Awards

2012 A. Brad Truax Awards

Faculty and staff honored at A. Brad Truax Award Ceremony on December 1, 2012.

Each December 1, in conjunction with World AIDS Day, the County of San Diego’s HIV, STD and Hepatitis Branch of the Health and Human Services Agency, Public Health Services, sponsors the annual Dr. A. Brad Truax Award ceremony.

Honorees in 2012 included several UC San Diego faculty and staff whose dedication to improving the lives of those affected by HIV and AIDS is unparalleled.

Teresa Oyos, senior staff member in the Participant Unit of the UC San Diego HIV Neurobehavioral Research Program, received the top award, the 2012 A. Brad Truax award.

Dr. Joseph Caperna, a physician at UC San Diego's Owen Clinic, received the Outstanding Service Award.

Dr.  Theodore Katsivas, also an Owen Clinic physician, as well as Drs. Constance Benson and Susan Little from the UC San Diego AntiViral Research Center, and Dr. Jason Bailly of Hillcrest Medical Offices South received the 2012 HIV Community Service Awards.

We are honored and delighted that the San Diego community has chosen to recognize the work of these stellar UC San Diego faculty and staff members.

Past UC San Diego recipients of the A. Brad Truax award include Drs. W. Christopher Mathews (1989) and Davey Smith (2009), Mary Caffrey (2003), and Terry Albritton (2004).

The Truax Award honors the memory of Dr. Truax, who was one of the first physicians in San Diego to treat people with AIDS and who chaired the first advisory board on HIV/AIDS in the county.